Normal Records newsccnctimp

Artist: Art Of Fighting
Release: Wires
Label: Normal Records
No.: N 244
Format: CD
Date: 2003


01 skeletons
02 give me tonight
03 akula
04 moonlight
05 I don´t keep a record
06 in no good way
07 find you lost
08 reasons are all I have left
09 just say I´m right
10 wires
11 something new

"The band in their own words: art of fighting formed in 1995, and have played since as a three, and a four-piece band. there have been a couple of line-up changes over the years, but the band is based around guitarist and singer ollie browne, bass player peggy frew, and guitarist miles browne. following a couple of home recorded demo tapes, some preliminary excursions into the studio, and some touring around australia, the band´s first release, a mini-album entitled the very strange year, came out on half a cow records in 1998. these six songs were recorded by nick carroll. in june 99, a second aof mini-album, empty nights, was recorded, again with nick, and was also licensed to half a cow. this record was subsequently released july 2000 in the u.k. by the label words and works rejected. in august 2000, aof released a split seven inch with two litre dolby, it was recorded by marcus barczak. released on barbequed browne records, it features the song in no good way which also appears on aof´s debut album wires. it was the last recording the band made with long time drummer cam grant, who of course will be missed greatly. aof´s debut full length album wires was recorded and mixed by tim whitten at sydney´s megaphon and paradise studios during november and december 2000. it has been released locally on trifekta records, the home of sodastream, gersey, minimum chips, and the australian home of dynomite d and life without buildings. wires also represents the first recorded input of marty brown (no relation), aof´s new drummer. marty´s past work has been with red raku and sodastream to name a couple. marty knows a heap of instruments, and found a few places to play them on wires which was lucky because we couldn´t afford session musos. aof are pretty glad wires is finally out."

» Normal Records
» Return to Sender
» QDK Media
» Shadoks Music
» Soundtracks
» Bollywood

Normal Records
And Also The Trees
Art Of Fighting
Barb Donovan
Chris Cacavas
Dream Syndicate
Eric Andersen
Fern Knight
Green On Red
Hannah Marcus
Herman Duene
Hungry Ghosts
June Tabor
Katrin Achinger
Louis Tillett
Low-fi generator
Myrna Loy
Penelope Houston
Tenfold Loadstar
The Silos
Tom Liwa
Townes van Zandt
Transmissionary Six
XXL Lieblinge

News - Discography - History - Impress/AGB ©2021 Normal Records